Day 30: Picnic on the edge of the world.

Distance: 17 miles (29 km)

Albergue: Xunta in Finisterre

“Le soleil qui meurt au Finisterre”

 From the song Ultreia

I had thought I might try the 7 km round trip walk to the lighthouse tomorrow, but I happened upon some Camino friends and we decided to go today and watch the sunset together. The lighthouse is located at the westernmost point of continental Europe and is the location of the Mile Zero marker for the Camino. Emotions run high at this real end of the Camino experience.

It was a perfect evening. The sea was unusually calm and the air was warm with a light breeze. In the picture below our group began with three Americans, two Germans, one Italian, and one Norwegian. We opened some wine and made some toasts. We ate bread, cheese and meat, watching the sunset together one last time. It wasn’t long before more Camino friends joined us and the small group turned into a party. I left just before dark to walk back and eat seafood. My restaurant was 50 m away from where the fishing fleet comes in to sell its catch every day. Fresh fish? You betcha.

So there it is. I’ve walked the length of Spain, from east to west. I started in the Pyrenees, walked through Basque Country, into the Rioja wine region, across the endless Meseta, the Bierzo wine region and ending by the Atlantic Ocean in the Celtic lands of Galicia. I have enough time left to walk back to Santiago, but my body says I am done. I agree.

Thirty days of walking every day. My phone app counts all my steps, not just the official trail miles but also the detours and the excursions at the end of the day. It says that I’ve walked over 600 miles (1000 km).

Along the way I’ve met and talked to some great people that I would not meet in the ordinary course of my life. I’ve learned some things about myself. I’ve eaten an extraordinary amount of (good) food and I have been tired but happy at the end of each day. I’ve been extraordinarily content for the last month just living from moment to moment, not planning beyond the current day. Walking until I am tired, eating when I am hungry, accepting whatever or whoever comes my way.

It’s going to take some time to to absorb all that has happened on this trip. I do know that I am ready to go home. My thanks to family and friends for their support and encouragement, and allowing me to share this trip with them.

Fini.

This entry was posted in Trips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 30: Picnic on the edge of the world.

  1. Jose Navarro says:

    Well done, Dale, and good luck readjusting when you return home.

    Like

  2. Shirley Coursey says:

    Yes, Dale! So there it is! You’ve walked the length of Spain; you look as fit and trim (and contented) as we’ve never seen you; you’ve shared some thoughts and wonderful pictures with us. I can’t tell you how much we have enjoyed and learned from your daily blogs–looked forward to them–in fact, STOPPED whatever we were doing and read them immediately whenever our computer went ding! and we saw that it was a “new post from Dale.”

    I can imagine the mixed emotions of completing this trip, this dream, and the reluctance then to leave it (despite your readiness to return home)–like a handshake with someone where it’s just so hard to let go. You’ll be like a kid returning home after a long challenging summer at camp–you’re not the same ‘kid’ that you were when you left…..(let’s hope folks realize that.) Thanks so much for letting us be a small part of your journey. Shirley and Joe Coursey

    >

    Like

  3. Shirley Coursey says:

    Dale– I know that Shirley has already written to you but I want to add my appreciation and thanks for your travel log. What a gift to us! — the daily posting of your adventure. We will never have the experience, but your daily blog has given us an alternative for understanding. Best wishes for a safe trip home. Joe Coursey

    >

    Like

Leave a comment